Product updates
Claude Duet brings background agent work to a US Pro and Max research preview
Vendor-reportedChecked: [launch][release]
Editorial attribution: Gosia Madej
Prepared with AI assistance. Editorial attribution does not imply personal product testing or manual review of every story.
Published: · Event date:
What changes for users

Duet has its own virtual machine and browser. Anthropic describes an ongoing text or voice thread, a morning brief and checks of connected accounts every few hours. It runs through separate iOS and Android apps and claude.ai.
Vendor-reportedChecked: [launch]
The help guide excludes Team and Enterprise for now. It says Duet asks before sending messages, making payments, signing documents or deleting anything. It cannot make phone calls or text other people; users cannot watch or take over its browser.
Vendor-reportedChecked: [guide]
The announcement includes a restaurant owner using Duet for customer support, alongside accounting and marketing. That is a vendor-selected account, not evidence of unattended helpdesk operation.
Editorial assessmentChecked: [launch]
Checked against sources
AI-assisted source check
How this was checked
No account access, product test or independent outcome verification was performed. Invitations arrive in waves without a promised date. This is a research preview, not general availability or a blanket change to agent permissions. No feature parity with competing assistants was established. Source screenshot capture was unavailable.
Source evidence
Original source excerpt. This shows what the source says; it does not establish product performance.
Claude Duet checks your connected accounts every few hours
Sources
- [launch] Anthropic: Introducing Claude DuetVendor-reportedPublished: 21 October 2026 · Checked: 22 October 2026
- [guide] Claude Help: Duet access, controls and limitationsVendor-reportedSource publication date not stated · Checked: 22 October 2026
- [product] Claude Duet: product and preview FAQVendor-reportedSource publication date not stated · Checked: 22 October 2026
- [release] Claude release notes: October 21 research previewVendor-reportedSource publication date not stated · Checked: 22 October 2026