Integrations
Front announces external AI teammates and Compass, with rollout caveats
Editorial assessmentChecked: 2026-10-07[launch][developer]
Editorial attribution: Gosia Madej
Prepared with AI assistance. Editorial attribution does not imply personal product testing or manual review of every story.
Published: · Event date:
The October 6 release brings outside agents into customer conversations. Documentation narrows testing coverage and leaves availability and rate-limit questions to confirm.
Editorial assessmentChecked: [launch][compass][external][developer]

Front’s October 6 announcement says external agents are available on all plans. Teams can assign conversations or invoke agents with mentions. Compass is included for external agents and Autopilot; Autopilot requires a usage-based add-on.
Vendor-reportedChecked: [launch]
Connecting an outside agent requires more than a subscription: Front’s guide assumes a separately hosted agent, a webhook receiver and an MCP client. Administrators set permissions for its actions.
Vendor-reportedChecked: [developer]
Compass documentation limits simulations to Autopilot. Smart QA’s default rule runs 24 hours after resolution, while CSAT is inferred by AI. These signals should not be mistaken for customer survey responses or an approval gate before sending.
Editorial assessmentChecked: [compass]
Checked against sources
AI-assisted source check
AI-assisted checking compared the announcement with Front’s external-agent, Compass and developer guides. These are vendor sources, not independent validation. No integration test or human review was performed.
Editorial assessmentChecked: [launch][external][compass][developer]
The developer guide still says closed beta, despite the announcement’s all-plan availability. Its plan-based rate table also differs from the external-agent help page’s per-agent and workspace caps. We cannot establish which limit a particular account receives.
Editorial assessmentChecked: [developer][external][launch]
Compass says simulation criteria cannot check answers against knowledge sources or Playbooks. Passing a behavioral simulation therefore does not establish policy accuracy.
Editorial assessmentChecked: [compass]
Source evidence
Original source excerpt. This shows what the source says; it does not establish product performance.
External agents are available on all plans.
What changes for users
Support teams bringing their own agent should confirm account access and applicable limits before sizing a rollout. Start with draft permissions and test handoff failures. Arrange separate policy-accuracy checks; ask Front which source details your external agent exposes in Compass.
Editorial assessmentChecked: [developer][external][compass]
Sources
- [launch] Front: customer AI agents as teammatesVendor-reportedPublished: 2026-10-06 · Checked: 2026-10-07
- [external] Front Help: External AI agentsVendor-reportedSource publication date not stated · Checked: 2026-10-07
- [compass] Front Help: Optimize your AI agents with CompassVendor-reportedSource publication date not stated · Checked: 2026-10-07
- [developer] Front developer guide: AI agents [Beta]Vendor-reportedSource publication date not stated · Checked: 2026-10-07