---
pair: gorgias-vs-sierra
page_url: https://ai-agent.review/compare/gorgias-vs-sierra
record_url: https://ai-agent.review/compare/gorgias-vs-sierra.md
agents: [gorgias, sierra]
tested_performance: not-yet-tested
facts_checked_at: 2026-09-20
---

# Gorgias AI Agent vs Sierra

Comparing **Gorgias AI Agent** (Gorgias, https://ai-agent.review/agents/gorgias.md) and **Sierra** (Sierra, https://ai-agent.review/agents/sierra.md).

Source-based review. This portal has not run a hands-on benchmark, so nothing here reports observed performance. No record contains a score, a rating or a benchmark result, and none will until the agents have actually been tested.

Facts last checked 20 Sept 2026, the earlier of the two records.

## Fit comparison

Each state describes what the reviewed sources establish about a workflow, not whether the product is good at it. Vendor-documented means the vendor documents the workflow. External report means a source outside the vendor discusses it. Caveat documented means a cited source describes a limitation or failure in a specific context; read it alongside any capability evidence. Not established means the reviewed sources do not settle it, which is not the same as the product being unable to do it. States are derived from the cited claims below, never stored.

| Area | Gorgias AI Agent | Sierra |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Billing | Not established | Vendor-documented |
| Orders | External report | Vendor-documented |
| Returns | Vendor-documented | Vendor-documented |
| Product questions | Vendor-documented | Vendor-documented |
| Account issues | Not established | Vendor-documented |
| Complaints | Not established | Vendor-documented |
| Human handoff | Vendor-documented | Vendor-documented |
| Small businesses | Caveat documented | Not established |
| Mid-market | Not established | Not established |
| Enterprise | Not established | Vendor-documented |

Evidence for each verdict is listed per agent below.

### Gorgias AI Agent: fit evidence

### Billing — Not established

No public source was found that settles this.

### Orders — External report

- **Vendor capability:** Gorgias documents AI Agent actions that cancel unfulfilled Shopify orders with restock and full refund, edit shipping addresses, remove or replace an order item, reship an order free of charge, and add an order note. _(Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026; source: [AI Agent Actions: make changes to Shopify orders](https://helpcenter.gorgias.com/en-US/ai-agent-actions-make-changes-to-shopify-orders-757792); claim id: `gorgias-fit-orders-vendor`)_
- **Independent report:** A Shopify merchant reviewer (Devoción Coffee, United States, 5 stars) reported the AI Agent handles order tracking and shipping-update questions "quickly and accurately". _(Independent report, published 19 Aug 2026, checked 20 Sept 2026; source: [Gorgias: AI, Helpdesk & Chat — Shopify App Store reviews](https://apps.shopify.com/helpdesk/reviews?page=2); claim id: `gorgias-fit-orders-indep`)_

> Documented limits apply within the capability rather than negating it: a cancellation is not passed to third-party logistics or fulfilment apps, an address change that alters tax or shipping cannot be refunded or charged by the agent, order modification applies to unfulfilled orders only, and item replacement is limited to one item with multi-item or paid replacements escalated to a human.

### Returns — Vendor-documented

- **Vendor capability:** Gorgias markets AI Agent support skills that "Make exchange and returns easy with personalized links" and documents a dedicated action that generates a Loop Returns portal deep link personalized to the customer and selected order. _(Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026; source: [AI Agent action: send Loop Returns portal deep link](https://helpcenter.gorgias.com/en-US/ai-agent-action-send-loop-returns-portal-deep-link-757795); claim id: `gorgias-fit-returns-vendor`)_

> For the documented Loop Returns flow the agent does not process the return itself; it sends a pre-authenticated portal link, and the action requires an active Loop Returns account plus an API key with Order and Return scopes. Merchants can gate the action with conditions such as a 14-day order window.

### Product questions — Vendor-documented

- **Vendor capability:** Gorgias documentation states the AI Agent draws on Shopify store data, Help Center articles, the public website and product catalog, custom Guidance documents and uploaded documents when composing answers. _(Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026; source: [How Gorgias's AI Agent works](https://helpcenter.gorgias.com/en-US/how-gorgiass-ai-agent-works-1997817); claim id: `gorgias-fit-productq-vendor`)_

> The same documentation states the agent will not reply when it cannot ground an answer in a verified source, and instead escalates; no independent evaluation of product-answer accuracy was found.

### Account issues — Not established

No public source was found that settles this.

### Complaints — Not established

No public source was found that settles this.

### Human handoff — Vendor-documented

- **Vendor capability:** Gorgias documents built-in handover signals (customer anger, explicit requests for a human, sensitive topics such as self-harm, violence, legal threats or financial account requests), configurable handover topics, and a pre-send draft review where "If it doesn't have enough knowledge to answer reliably...it hands over rather than guessing." _(Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026; source: [Customize how AI Agent hands over to your team](https://docs.gorgias.com/en-US/customize-how-ai-agent-hands-over-to-your-team-6008591); claim id: `gorgias-fit-handoff-vendor`)_

> Handover configuration differs by channel: email and SMS expose customer-notification settings, while chat adds confirmation prompts, wait-time messaging and email capture.

### Small businesses — Caveat documented

- **Vendor capability:** Gorgias states its help desk "scales from 50 to 5,000 tickets a month, never priced per agent", offers self-serve "Sign up free", and includes "AI Agent on every plan, pay only when it resolves a conversation". _(Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026; source: [Gorgias pricing](https://www.gorgias.com/pricing); claim id: `gorgias-fit-small-vendor`)_
- **Independent report of failure:** A 2-star Trustpilot reviewer reported leaving the AI Agent switched off, writing "At 1.50 USD per AI conversation I cannot justify switching it on - if customers actually use it, that is a four-figure bill at the end of the month." _(Independent report, published 31 Jul 2026, checked 20 Sept 2026; source: [Gorgias reviews on Trustpilot](https://www.trustpilot.com/review/gorgias.com); claim id: `gorgias-fit-small-fail`)_

> The same complaint appears verbatim in a 2-star Shopify App Store review from GPerformance (Slovakia, 2026-07-31); Gorgias itself publishes no per-resolution dollar figure, so the $1.50 figure is a customer report, not a vendor-confirmed price.

### Mid-market — Not established

No public source was found that settles this.

### Enterprise — Not established

No public source was found that settles this.

### Sierra: fit evidence

### Billing — Vendor-documented

- **Vendor capability:** Sierra’s AOL case study describes explanations of outstanding balances, billing history and payment-method updates. The example is AOL’s configured agent, not a guarantee that every Sierra deployment includes billing access. _(Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026; source: [AOL customer story (Sierra)](https://sierra.ai/customers/aol); claim id: `sierra-billing-aol`)_

> Illustrative evaluation: ask why a subscription charge increased, then request a card update. Verify identity checks, the source of the billing explanation and the permitted update path.

### Orders — Vendor-documented

- **Vendor capability:** Sierra’s Minted case study describes order updates across design approval, printing and shipping, plus priority-shipping changes for delayed orders. This supports an order-management use case in that deployment. _(Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026; source: [Minted customer story (Sierra)](https://sierra.ai/customers/minted); claim id: `sierra-orders-minted`)_

> Illustrative evaluation: use a split shipment with one delayed item. Require the agent to distinguish production status from carrier status and avoid promising a delivery date that the connected system does not provide.

### Returns — Vendor-documented

- **Vendor capability:** Sierra’s retail page lists refund requests and exchanges among supported workflows. It does not specify a universal return-policy configuration or prove that a particular refund reaches the payment processor. _(Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026; source: [Retail and consumer goods (Sierra)](https://sierra.ai/industries/retail); claim id: `sierra-returns-retail-exchanges`)_

> Illustrative evaluation: request an exchange for an item outside the normal return window. Check the configured exception policy, approval requirement and final state in the order system.

### Product questions — Vendor-documented

- **Vendor capability:** Sierra describes grounding answers in company knowledge, policies and brand guidance. That provides a route to product answers based on supplied content; it does not establish accuracy for a buyer’s catalog. _(Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026; source: [Meet your agent (Sierra)](https://sierra.ai/product/meet-your-agent); claim id: `sierra-productq-meet-knowledge`)_

> Illustrative evaluation: ask whether an accessory works with an older product model. Supply an approved compatibility source and check that missing information leads to clarification rather than an invented answer.

### Account issues — Vendor-documented

- **Vendor capability:** Sierra’s Ramp case study describes card locking and replacement, address validation and transaction explanations. These are account actions in Ramp’s configured implementation; password recovery and other account workflows require their own evidence. _(Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026; source: [Ramp customer story (Sierra)](https://sierra.ai/customers/ramp); claim id: `sierra-account-ramp`)_

> Illustrative evaluation: an authenticated cardholder requests a replacement card and address change. Check permissions, address confirmation and the resulting card state before considering the journey complete.

### Complaints — Vendor-documented

- **Vendor capability:** Sierra says its agents can recognize frustration and adapt their responses. This is a vendor claim about conversational behavior, not a measured result for complaint resolution or customer satisfaction. _(Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026; source: [Meet your agent (Sierra)](https://sierra.ai/product/meet-your-agent); claim id: `sierra-complaints-meet-frustration`)_

> Illustrative evaluation: a customer repeats a cancellation request after rejecting a retention offer. Check that the configured flow respects the refusal and provides the agreed cancellation or human-escalation path.

### Human handoff — Vendor-documented

- **Vendor capability:** Sierra’s SDK page documents routing an escalated conversation to a team member with a generated summary. It does not establish how quickly a human answers in a particular contact center. _(Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026; source: [Agent SDK (Sierra)](https://sierra.ai/product/agent-sdk); claim id: `sierra-handoff-sdk`)_

> Illustrative evaluation: request a person during a failed account update. Check queue routing, transcript and summary delivery, plus what the customer sees when the team is offline.

### Small businesses — Not established

No public source was found that settles this.

> Business size alone does not establish suitability. Illustrative buying scenario: a small team needs one FAQ channel; ask for the implementation work and ongoing maintenance required for that scope before deciding whether the platform is proportionate.

### Mid-market — Not established

No public source was found that settles this.

> The reviewed sources do not establish a universal mid-market fit. Illustrative buying scenario: a growing retailer needs order support across two brands; evaluate connector coverage, ownership of policy updates and support capacity for that deployment.

### Enterprise — Vendor-documented

- **Vendor capability:** Sierra publishes customer stories for AOL, Minted and Ramp, including connected service workflows. These are vendor-published deployment examples, not proof that every enterprise requirement is met. _(Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026; source: [Customer stories and examples (Sierra)](https://sierra.ai/); claim id: `sierra-enterprise-vendor`)_

> Illustrative buying scenario: multiple business units need separate permissions and policies. Request a demonstration using those boundaries and review the operational and security requirements of the proposed deployment.

## Product information

| Attribute | Gorgias AI Agent | Sierra |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Deployment model | The AI Agent is a cloud SaaS feature of the Gorgias help desk, included on every plan and billed only when it resolves a conversation. (Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026) | Sierra documents configuration through Agent Studio and custom integrations for proprietary systems. Deployment work includes defining journeys and connecting the systems those journeys use. (Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026) |
| Channels | Gorgias states the AI Agent operates in its omnichannel inbox covering email, chat, SMS, WhatsApp, Instagram and Facebook. (Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026) | Vendor-listed channels include phone, website and app chat, WhatsApp, Apple Business Chat, SMS and email. Live Assist supports staff, and Sierra also documents publishing selected agent journeys to ChatGPT. (Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026) |
| Languages | Gorgias documentation states that "AI Agent detects the language a customer writes in and replies in the same language", with a setting to override the reply language; no supported-language count for the agent is published. (Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026) | The current Channels page describes voice models tuned for 60+ locales. A locale is not the same as a language; verify the exact language, accent and channel required for your deployment. (Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026) |
| Help desk and CRM integrations | Across all vendor pages and documentation checked, the AI Agent is offered only as a feature of the Gorgias help desk itself rather than as a layer over third-party help desks. (Editorial assessment, checked 20 Sept 2026) | Agent Studio lists 40+ prebuilt integrations for knowledge, systems of record and contact centers, but this page does not identify the help-desk connectors. Confirm your help desk and required handoff behavior with Sierra. (Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026) |
| Knowledge sources | Knowledge sources documented for the AI Agent are Shopify store data (orders, customers, products), Help Center articles, the public website and product catalog, custom Guidance documents, uploaded documents, and connected third-party app actions. (Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026) | The SDK documents ingestion of company FAQs, policies and documentation into its knowledge engine. (Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026) |
| Actions in backend systems | Documented AI Agent actions include Shopify order changes (cancel, edit shipping address, remove item, replace item, free reshipment, order note), Loop Returns portal links and return shipping status, Recharge, Skio and Loop subscription management, and 3PL lookups via ShipStation, ShipBob, ShipHero and ShipMonk, alongside custom actions built through the action builder. (Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026) | The SDK lists subscription updates and warranty submissions as examples of actions through connected systems. Required permissions and workflow configuration depend on the implementation. (Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026) |
| Human handoff | Handover to human agents is triggered by built-in signals (anger, explicit request for a human, sensitive topics), merchant-configured handover topics, and a low-confidence check on the agent's draft reply before sending. (Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026) | The SDK documents routing to a team member with an automatic conversation summary. (Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026) |
| Target customer size | Gorgias positions the product for ecommerce brands handling roughly 50 to 5,000 tickets per month, priced by ticket volume rather than per agent. (Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026) | Sierra’s public customer examples include AOL, Minted and Ramp. These show deployments in established businesses; they do not define a minimum viable team size. (Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026) |
| Vendor-reported performance claims | In its own September 2026 ecommerce AI benchmark (18 vendors, 212 live stores, 8,390 conversations), Gorgias ranks its AI Agent #1 overall, with 74% support automation and a 76/100 blind quality score for support and 84% automation with 76/100 quality for shopping; separately Gorgias markets a 60% automation rate for email and chat and bills the agent per resolved conversation. (Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026) | Sierra reports 90% case resolution at Ramp. This is a vendor-published customer result with no common benchmark population supplied here; it should not be compared directly with another vendor’s deflection or resolution figure. (Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026) |

Full source links for each attribute are in the per-agent records linked above.

## Industry comparison

An industry state says where the cited sources place the product, not how well it performed there. The same four states and the same rubric apply. Industry entries cite claims published in the agent's own record, by id, so a source is never stored twice and the two copies can never disagree. An industry with no entry is unknown, which is a gap in the public record rather than a finding.

| Industry | Gorgias AI Agent | Sierra |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Retail and e-commerce | External report | Vendor-documented |
| Financial services | Not established | Not established |
| Telecommunications | Not established | Not established |
| Travel and hospitality | Not established | Not established |
| Healthcare | Not established | Not established |
| Public sector and education | Not established | Not established |
| Logistics and delivery | Caveat documented | Not established |

Evidence for each industry is listed per agent below.

### Gorgias AI Agent: industry evidence

### Retail and e-commerce — External report

- Gorgias positions the product for ecommerce brands handling roughly 50 to 5,000 tickets per month, priced by ticket volume rather than per agent. _(Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026; source: [Gorgias pricing](https://www.gorgias.com/pricing); claim id: `gorgias-cmp-targetsize`)_
- A Shopify merchant reviewer (Devoción Coffee, United States, 5 stars) reported the AI Agent handles order tracking and shipping-update questions "quickly and accurately". _(Independent report, published 19 Aug 2026, checked 20 Sept 2026; source: [Gorgias: AI, Helpdesk & Chat — Shopify App Store reviews](https://apps.shopify.com/helpdesk/reviews?page=2); claim id: `gorgias-fit-orders-indep`)_

> Gorgias is positioned for ecommerce brands, and a merchant reviewing on the Shopify App Store reports the agent handling order and shipping questions. One reviewer describes one store, not the segment.

### Financial services — Not established

No reviewed source places this product in this industry.

### Telecommunications — Not established

No reviewed source places this product in this industry.

### Travel and hospitality — Not established

No reviewed source places this product in this industry.

### Healthcare — Not established

No reviewed source places this product in this industry.

### Public sector and education — Not established

No reviewed source places this product in this industry.

### Logistics and delivery — Caveat documented

- Gorgias documentation states that when the AI Agent cancels a Shopify order, "The cancellation does not get passed along to other 3rd-party logistics (3PL) or order fulfillment apps." _(Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026; source: [AI Agent Actions: make changes to Shopify orders](https://helpcenter.gorgias.com/en-US/ai-agent-actions-make-changes-to-shopify-orders-757792); claim id: `gorgias-weak-3pl-sync`)_

> The only source placing the product against fulfilment systems is a documented limitation: a cancellation made by the agent is not passed to third-party logistics or fulfilment apps. Nothing establishes broader logistics coverage either way.

### Sierra: industry evidence

### Retail and e-commerce — Vendor-documented

- Sierra’s retail page lists refund requests and exchanges among supported workflows. It does not specify a universal return-policy configuration or prove that a particular refund reaches the payment processor. _(Vendor-reported, checked 20 Sept 2026; source: [Retail and consumer goods (Sierra)](https://sierra.ai/industries/retail); claim id: `sierra-returns-retail-exchanges`)_

> Sierra's retail and consumer goods page lists refunds and exchanges among supported workflows. Vendor documentation only; no retail deployment is independently reported.

### Financial services — Not established

No reviewed source places this product in this industry.

### Telecommunications — Not established

No reviewed source places this product in this industry.

### Travel and hospitality — Not established

No reviewed source places this product in this industry.

### Healthcare — Not established

No reviewed source places this product in this industry.

### Public sector and education — Not established

No reviewed source places this product in this industry.

### Logistics and delivery — Not established

No reviewed source places this product in this industry.

## Gorgias AI Agent: evidence base

The independent evidence behind these states comes mainly from other independent sources.

Independent sources behind these verdicts: apps.shopify.com, trustpilot.com.
By kind: other independent sources (1), end-user review sites (1).

Verdicts across agents are not directly comparable while the evidence behind them comes from different
kinds of source. See https://ai-agent.review/methodology#evidence-asymmetry.

## Sierra: evidence base

No independent source has been found for any fit area, so every state here rests on vendor material or nothing.

Independent sources behind these verdicts: none.

Verdicts across agents are not directly comparable while the evidence behind them comes from different
kinds of source. See https://ai-agent.review/methodology#evidence-asymmetry.

## Corrections

Factual corrections with a public source are accepted at corrections@ai-agent.review and answered within 14 days. Method: https://ai-agent.review/methodology
